# Alabama Section of the American Water Resources Association Board Meeting June 29, 2010

Board members present included Sabra Sutton, George Marodis, Ashley McVicar, Todd Boatman. Milt Ward was absent.

#### Introduction

**❖** The meeting was called to order at 10:00 am at CH2MHILL's Montgomery office.

### **Summary of the Last Meeting**

**❖** Minutes from the May 13, 2010 Board meeting were reviewed and approved.

## **Financial Report**

**❖** George presented the financial report. As of June 29, 2010 the chapter has \$8,802.71 in the checking account.

### **Symposium Planning**

- **❖** Policy Updates will be the general theme. Bryan Atkins, Jim Crew, Barnett Lawley and Chip Crockett have agreed to speak. At least one more speaker will be added. Possible speakers include Bennett Bearden, Mike Kensler, Mike Eubanks or Senator Benefield.
- **❖** Alabama pottery will be purchase for speaker gifts.
- **Ashley will communicate with John Morris about contacting sponsors.**
- **❖** John Morris is organizing the FloraBama social and we are planning for 150 people.
- \* The conference planning committee is meeting July 15<sup>th</sup> to look at the abstracts.

#### **Old Business**

- **❖** Sabra reported that she has not been able to determine our 501c3 status. It appears that AWRA has an active tax number but she can not locate records on its establishment.
- **❖** Sabra reported that Perdido Beach staff does not believe there is 3<sup>rd</sup> party liability problem when the Resort serves alcohol at a meeting social.
- **❖** Mike Kensler was approved to offer him the nomination for Membership Chairman on the 2011 AWRA Board. Stan will contact him.

#### **New Business**

- **Spouses do not need tickets for the FloraBama social but they do need to accompany a registered attendee.**
- **\*** The membership form is online.
- **❖** ADCNR will be highlighted at the Symposium.

# **Closing comments**

- The next meeting was not set and maybe held by conference call.
  The meeting was adjourned at 11:46am.
- **❖** Minutes are submitted by Stan Cook